the undocumened americns karla cornejo villevicenio

THE UNDOCUMENTED AMERICANS, as observed by one of their own

The Undocumented Americans is a tricky book to categorize and an enlightening, provocative book to read.

Karla Cornejo Villavicencio is a Harvard graduate, a Yale grad student, and a writer. She is the daughter of undocumented Ecuadorian parents who brought her to America as a five-year-old. Her younger brother is American-born, while she lives under the precarious protection of DACA. The outcome of the 2016 presidential election made this life more perilous and uncertain than ever. It also made Cornejo Villavicencio want to examine her own story more deeply, and see how it fit in with the stories of other undocumented Americans.

In her introduction to the book, Cornejo Villavicencio calls The Undocumented Americans “creative nonfiction,” and that’s a fair assessment. The title sounds authoritative, scholarly–possibly a definitive work on the subject. And while it may turn out to be just that, its ambitions and execution are on a smaller scale.

This is a deeply personal book, but it’s not solely Cornejo Villavicencioo’s own story–therefore, it’s not memoir. The other stories she tells grow out of her embedded reporting, but she has changed her subjects’ names and details; it’s not journalism, either But I’m not sure it matters where you shelve this book. What’s important is taking it off that shelf and reading it.

I wasn’t aware that this book existed until last autumn when it started showing up on Best Books of 2020 lists, but I’m really glad it came to my attention. Cornejo Villavicencio is a powerful and passionate writer, invested in her material and attached to those whose stories she shares. The Undocumented Americans is an eye-opening, unsettling, and important work of creative nonfiction.

THE UNDOCUMENTED AMERICANS, as observed by one of their ownThe Undocumented Americans
Written by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Published by Random House Publishing Group on March 24, 2020
ISBN: 9780399592683
Genres: Nonfiction, Biography & Autobiography
Format: ebook
Pages: 208
Source: purchased

Karla Cornejo Villavicencio was on DACA when she decided to write about being undocumented for the first time using her own name. It was right after the election of 2016, the day she realized the story she'd tried to steer clear of was the only one she wanted to tell. So she wrote her immigration lawyer's phone number on her hand in Sharpie and embarked on a trip across the country to tell the stories of her fellow undocumented immigrants--and to find the hidden key to her own.

Looking beyond the flashpoints of the border or the activism of the DREAMers, Cornejo Villavicencio explores the lives of the undocumented--and the mysteries of her own life. She finds the nation of singular, effervescent characters often reduced in the media to political pawns or nameless laborers. The stories she tells are not deferential or naively inspirational but show the love, magic, heartbreak, insanity, and vulgarity that infuse the day-to-day lives of her subjects.

In New York, we meet the undocumented workers who were recruited into the federally funded Ground Zero cleanup after 9/11. In Miami, we enter the ubiquitous botanicas, which offer medicinal herbs and potions to those whose status blocks them from any other healthcare options. In Flint, Michigan, we learn of demands for state ID in order to receive life-saving clean water. In Connecticut, Cornejo Villavicencio, childless by choice, finds family in two teenage girls whose father is in sanctuary. And through it all we see the author grappling with the biggest questions of love, duty, family, and survival.

Cornejo Villavicencio combines sensitive reporting and powerful personal narratives to bring to light remarkable stories of resilience, madness, and death. Through these stories we come to understand what it truly means to be a stray. An expendable. A hero. An American.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,308 other subscribers

BORN A CRIME by Trevor Noah [Book Thoughts]

BORN A CRIME by Trevor Noah [Book Thoughts]

Born a Crime Written by Trevor Noah Audiobook read by Trevor Noah Published by Random House Publishing Group on November 15th 2016 ISBN: 9780399588174 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Essays, Performing Arts Format: audiobook Pages: 304 Source: purchased Trevor Noah’s unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor was born to a white Swiss father and a black Xhosa mother at […]

BEHOLD THE DREAMERS by Imbolo Mbue [Audiobook Thoughts]

BEHOLD THE DREAMERS by Imbolo Mbue [Audiobook Thoughts]

Behold the Dreamers Written by Imbolo Mbue Audiobook read by Prentice Onayemi Published by Random House Publishing Group on August 23rd 2016 ISBN: 9780812998498 Genres: Fiction, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 416 Source: public library via Overdrive A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dreamโ€”the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy […]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

When Breath Becomes Air Written by Paul Kalanithi Audiobook read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 16th 2016 ISBN: 9780812988413 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER โ€ข For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

Ghettoside; A True Story of Murder in America Written by Jill Leovy Audiobook read by Rebecca Lowman Published by Random House Publishing Group on January 27th 2015 ISBN: 9780385530002 Genres: True Crime, Nonfiction, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER โ€ข NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, USA TODAY, AND CHICAGO TRIBUNE โ€ข A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, […]