the undocumened americns karla cornejo villevicenio

THE UNDOCUMENTED AMERICANS, as observed by one of their own

The Undocumented Americans is a tricky book to categorize and an enlightening, provocative book to read.

Karla Cornejo Villavicencio is a Harvard graduate, a Yale grad student, and a writer. She is the daughter of undocumented Ecuadorian parents who brought her to America as a five-year-old. Her younger brother is American-born, while she lives under the precarious protection of DACA. The outcome of the 2016 presidential election made this life more perilous and uncertain than ever. It also made Cornejo Villavicencio want to examine her own story more deeply, and see how it fit in with the stories of other undocumented Americans.

In her introduction to the book, Cornejo Villavicencio calls The Undocumented Americans “creative nonfiction,” and that’s a fair assessment. The title sounds authoritative, scholarly–possibly a definitive work on the subject. And while it may turn out to be just that, its ambitions and execution are on a smaller scale.

This is a deeply personal book, but it’s not solely Cornejo Villavicencioo’s own story–therefore, it’s not memoir. The other stories she tells grow out of her embedded reporting, but she has changed her subjects’ names and details; it’s not journalism, either But I’m not sure it matters where you shelve this book. What’s important is taking it off that shelf and reading it.

I wasn’t aware that this book existed until last autumn when it started showing up on Best Books of 2020 lists, but I’m really glad it came to my attention. Cornejo Villavicencio is a powerful and passionate writer, invested in her material and attached to those whose stories she shares. The Undocumented Americans is an eye-opening, unsettling, and important work of creative nonfiction.

THE UNDOCUMENTED AMERICANS, as observed by one of their ownThe Undocumented Americans
Written by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Published by Random House Publishing Group on March 24, 2020
ISBN: 9780399592683
Genres: Nonfiction, Biography & Autobiography
Format: ebook
Pages: 208
Source: purchased

Karla Cornejo Villavicencio was on DACA when she decided to write about being undocumented for the first time using her own name. It was right after the election of 2016, the day she realized the story she'd tried to steer clear of was the only one she wanted to tell. So she wrote her immigration lawyer's phone number on her hand in Sharpie and embarked on a trip across the country to tell the stories of her fellow undocumented immigrants--and to find the hidden key to her own.

Looking beyond the flashpoints of the border or the activism of the DREAMers, Cornejo Villavicencio explores the lives of the undocumented--and the mysteries of her own life. She finds the nation of singular, effervescent characters often reduced in the media to political pawns or nameless laborers. The stories she tells are not deferential or naively inspirational but show the love, magic, heartbreak, insanity, and vulgarity that infuse the day-to-day lives of her subjects.

In New York, we meet the undocumented workers who were recruited into the federally funded Ground Zero cleanup after 9/11. In Miami, we enter the ubiquitous botanicas, which offer medicinal herbs and potions to those whose status blocks them from any other healthcare options. In Flint, Michigan, we learn of demands for state ID in order to receive life-saving clean water. In Connecticut, Cornejo Villavicencio, childless by choice, finds family in two teenage girls whose father is in sanctuary. And through it all we see the author grappling with the biggest questions of love, duty, family, and survival.

Cornejo Villavicencio combines sensitive reporting and powerful personal narratives to bring to light remarkable stories of resilience, madness, and death. Through these stories we come to understand what it truly means to be a stray. An expendable. A hero. An American.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,315 other subscribers

The Same, but Different…

The Same, but Different…

Wednesday morning felt different after a restless, silent, very dark night. We had lost power at 3 PM the day before as Southern California was slammed with extremely high winds, and we had no idea how long we’d be without it. It was obvious that I wouldn’t be working remotely that morning, though. As it happened, we were powerless for a total of roughly 21 hours. And we were without cable, internet, and WiFi for […]

Audiobooks I Read While I Wasn’t Blogging: Audies Edition

Audiobooks I Read While I Wasn’t Blogging: Audies Edition

I don’t usually do the “bite-sized book reviews” thing here. But after four months away, it’s probably the most efficient way to catch up! I’m updating my 2017 Book Review Index and reading record with these collected mini-reviews.  Granted, I didn’t do a TON of reading while I was gone. However, I did read too many books to write individual posts about each one. I don’t have the time–or quite frankly, the memory of some of […]

BORN A CRIME by Trevor Noah [Book Thoughts]

BORN A CRIME by Trevor Noah [Book Thoughts]

Born a Crime Written by Trevor Noah Audiobook read by Trevor Noah Published by Random House Publishing Group on November 15th 2016 ISBN: 9780399588174 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Essays, Performing Arts Format: audiobook Pages: 304 Source: purchased Trevor Noah’s unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor was born to a white Swiss father and a black Xhosa mother at […]

BORN TO RUN by Bruce Springsteen–The Book!

BORN TO RUN by Bruce Springsteen–The Book!

Born to Run Written by Bruce Springsteen Audiobook read by Bruce Springsteen Published by Simon and Schuster on September 27th 2016 ISBN: 9781501141539 Genres: Nonfiction, Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Music Format: audiobook Pages: 528 Source: purchased “Writing about yourself is a funny business…But in a project like this, the writer has made one promise, to show the reader his mind. In these pages, I’ve tried to do this.” —Bruce Springsteen, from the pages of […]

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Ron Chernow [Audiobook Thoughts]

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Ron Chernow [Audiobook Thoughts]

Alexander Hamilton Written by Ron Chernow Audiobook read by Scott Brick Published by Penguin on 2004 ISBN: 9780143034759 Genres: Biography & Autobiography Format: audiobook Pages: 818 Source: purchased In the first full-length biography of Alexander Hamilton in decades, National Book Award winner Ron Chernow tells the riveting story of a man who overcame all odds to shape, inspire, and scandalize the newborn America. According to historian Joseph Ellis, Alexander Hamilton is “a robust full-length portrait, […]

THE FORTRESS by Danielle Trussoni [Book Thoughts]

THE FORTRESS by Danielle Trussoni [Book Thoughts]

The Fortress Written by Danielle Trussoni Published by HarperCollins on September 20th 2016 ISBN: 9780062458995 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs Format: ARC Pages: 336 Source: publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers The critically acclaimed, bestselling author of Falling Through the Earth and Angelology returns with this much-anticipated memoir of love and transformation in France. The Fortress is Peter Mayle meets Eat, Pray, Love, a gorgeously written account of one woman’s journey to the other […]

LAFAYETTE IN THE SOMEWHAT UNITED STATES by Sarah Vowell [Audiobook Thoughts]

LAFAYETTE IN THE SOMEWHAT UNITED STATES by Sarah Vowell [Audiobook Thoughts]

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States Written by Sarah Vowell Audiobook read by Sarah Vowell Published by Penguin on October 20th 2015 ISBN: 9781101624012 Genres: History, United States, Biography & Autobiography Format: audiobook Pages: 288 Source: public library via Overdrive From the bestselling author of Assassination Vacation and The Partly Cloudy Patriot, an insightful and unconventional account of George Washington’s trusted officer and friend, that swashbuckling teenage French aristocrat the Marquis de Lafayette.   Chronicling General […]

DEAR MR. YOU by Mary-Louise Parker [Audiobook Thoughts]

DEAR MR. YOU by Mary-Louise Parker [Audiobook Thoughts]

Dear Mr. You Written by Mary-Louise Parker Audiobook read by Mary-Louise Parker Published by Scribner on November 10th 2015 ISBN: 9781501107832 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Personal Memoirs Format: audiobook Pages: 240 Source: purchased A wonderfully unconventional literary debut from the award-winning actress Mary-Louise Parker. An extraordinary literary work, Dear Mr. You renders the singular arc of a woman’s life through letters Mary-Louise Parker composes to the men, real and hypothetical, who […]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

When Breath Becomes Air Written by Paul Kalanithi Audiobook read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 16th 2016 ISBN: 9780812988413 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: NEGROLAND, A MEMOIR by Margo Jefferson

(Audio)Book Thoughts: NEGROLAND, A MEMOIR by Margo Jefferson

Negroland: A Memoir Written by Margo Jefferson Audiobook read by Robin Miles Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Pantheon on September 8th 2015 ISBN: 9781101870648 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Cultural Heritage, African American Studies Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive At once incendiary and icy, mischievous and provocative, celebratory and elegiac—here is a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author’s rarefied upbringing and education […]

Audiobook Talk: BOYS IN THE TREES by Carly Simon

Audiobook Talk: BOYS IN THE TREES by Carly Simon

Boys in the Trees Written by Carly Simon Audiobook read by Carly Simon Published by Flatiron Books on November 24th 2015 ISBN: 9781250095909 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Music, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Personal Memoirs Format: audiobook Pages: 304 Source: public library via Overdrive Simon’s memoir reveals her remarkable life, beginning with her storied childhood as the third daughter of Richard L. Simon, the co-founder of publishing giant Simon & Schuster, her musical debut as half […]