The Book Bridge July 2016 Edition

The Book Bridge July 2016 Edition

This is The Book Bridge July 2016 edition—we’re connecting each other to great reads! I’m thrilled to bring this to you, and so excited that some of you were excited to share the books you were most excited about last month. This is our first time here, and I hope it won’t be the last! We have a mix of brand-new and backlist books, fiction and nonfiction, and a couple of audiobooks to talk about, so […]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Stranger, Father, Beloved Written by Taylor Larsen Published by Gallery Books on July 12th 2016 ISBN: 9781501124754 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Coming of Age, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 272 Source: publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers In the tradition of Tom Perrotta’s Little Children, a “mesmerizing, unsparing” (Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!) debut novel about a […]

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

Perfectly Broken Written by Robert Burke Warren Published by Story Plant on March 8th 2016 ISBN: 9781611882186 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 270 Source: publisher A galley copy of Perfectly Broken was provided by the publisher via TLC Book Tours to facilitate a review and participation in a promotional blog tour. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions are my own.   On first impression, Perfectly Broken reminded me of books like  Greg […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

All Involved Written by Ryan Gattis Audiobook read by Anthony Rey Perez, Marisol Ramirez, Jim Cooper, Adam Lazarre-White, James Chen Published by Harper Collins on April 7th 2015 ISBN: 9780062378811 Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive A propulsive and ambitious novel as electrifying as The Wire, from a writer hailed as the West Coast’s Richard Price—a mesmerizing epic of crime and opportunity, race, revenge, and loyalty, set in […]

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.The Ramblers Written by Aidan Donnelley Rowley Published by William Morrow on February 9th 2016 ISBN: 9780062413314 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 400 For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the […]

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.One More Day Written by Kelly Simmons Published by Sourcebooks on February 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9781492618645 Genres: Fiction, Suspense, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 320 A missing son returns, only to vanish again within 24 hours. Can a secret from his mother’s past unlock the mystery of his disappearance? When Carrie Morgan’s young son is snatched […]

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Like Family Written by Paolo Giordano Published by Pamela Dorman Books on December 1st 2015 ISBN: 0525428763 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 146 From the author of the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, an exquisite portrait of marriage, adulthood, and the meaning of family Paolo Giordano’s prizewinning debut novel, The Solitude […]

2015: The Year in Books (And a Few Numbers)

2015: The Year in Books (And a Few Numbers)

  2015 was not one of the more distinguished years of my reading life, so it seems rather fitting that it’s the year I stepped away from assigning ratings to the books I wrote about. Partly because of that, and partly because the books that stood out and stuck with me did so for random reasons, I’m taking a different approach to my year-end book roundup. And since I wasn’t entirely sure I would do […]

Book Talk: CHARMED PARTICLES by Chrissy Kolaya (via Shelf Awareness)

Book Talk: CHARMED PARTICLES by Chrissy Kolaya (via Shelf Awareness)

Charmed Particles: A Novel Chrissy Kolaya (Twitter)  Dzanc Books (November 2015), trade paper (ISBN 1938103173 / 9781938103179) Fiction, 224 pages   A version of this review was previously published in Shelf Awareness for Readers (December 15, 2015). Shelf Awareness provided me with a publisher-furnished galley to facilitate the review, and compensated me for the review they received and posted. This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.       In Charmed Particles, first-time novelist Chrissy […]

(Audio)Book Talk: CAREER OF EVIL by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling), read by Robert Glenister

(Audio)Book Talk: CAREER OF EVIL by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling), read by Robert Glenister

Career of Evil (A Cormoran Strike Novel) Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling) Audiobook read by Robert Glenister Mulholland Books (October 2015), hardcover (ISBN 0316349933 / 9780316349932) Fiction (mystery/crime), 512 pages Source: Purchased audiobook (Hachette Audio, October 2015, 9781478962670, Audible ASIN B014JXQMEG)   This review contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org.         A few weeks ago, not long after I’d found myself idly wondering when J.K. Rowling’s crime-writing alter ego, Robert Galbraith, would have a new book […]

(Audio)Book Talk: NEVERWHERE by Neil Gaiman, read by the author

(Audio)Book Talk: NEVERWHERE by Neil Gaiman, read by the author

Neverwhere: The Author’s Preferred Text Neil Gaiman (Twitter) Audiobook read by the author William Morrow (2015), hardcover reprint (ISBN 0062371053 / 9780062371058) Fiction: fantasy, 336 pages Source: Purchased audiobook (Harper Audio, 2007, ISBN 9780061549113, Audible ASIN B000XSAXXS) for the Neverwhere Readalong (#NeverwhereRAL), October 2015   This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.   —————————————————————————————————–     My official line is that I rarely read “genre” fiction. I’ve recently realized that my only real support for […]

(E)Book Talk: LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE by Jessica Knoll

(E)Book Talk: LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE by Jessica Knoll

Luckiest Girl Alive: A Novel Jessica Knoll (Twitter) (Facebook) Simon & Schuster (May 2015), hardcover (ISBN 9781476789637) Fiction: 350 pages Source: Purchased ebook (iBooks, ISBN 9781476789651) This post contains affiliate links to IndieBound. The discussion contains potential spoilers for the novel Luckiest Girl Alive. High-school humiliation, shocking tragedy, personal reinvention, the conviction that the “right” old-money marriage will change your life; we’re all pretty well acquainted with the plot points of Jessica Knoll’s first novel, […]