EVERYTHING I  NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng [Bullet Review]

EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng [Bullet Review]

Everything I Never Told You Written by Celeste Ng Published by Penguin on May 12th 2015 ISBN: 9780143127550 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: trade paper Pages: 297 Source: purchased “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet. So begins the story of this exquisite debut novel, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee; their middle daughter, a girl who inherited […]

THE STORY OF THE LOST CHILD by Elena Ferrante [Audiobook Thoughts]

THE STORY OF THE LOST CHILD by Elena Ferrante [Audiobook Thoughts]

The Story of the Lost Child Series: The Neapolitan Novels, #4 Written by Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein Audiobook read by Hillary Huber Published by Europa Editions on September 1st 2015 ISBN: 9781609452865 Genres: Fiction, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 473 Source: public library via Overdrive Here is the dazzling saga of two women, the brilliant, bookish Elena and the fiery, uncontainable Lila. Both are now adults; life’s great discoveries have been made, its vagaries and losses […]

HOW TO PARTY WITH AN INFANT by Kaui Hart Hemmings [Book Thoughts]

HOW TO PARTY WITH AN INFANT by Kaui Hart Hemmings [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.How to Party With an Infant Written by Kaui Hart Hemmings Published by Simon and Schuster on August 9th 2016 ISBN: 9781501100796 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Contemporary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 240 Source: publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers The new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Descendants—a hilarious and charming story […]

The Book Bridge August 2016 Edition: Books Other Readers Think You Should Read!

The Book Bridge August 2016 Edition: Books Other Readers Think You Should Read!

The Book Bridge August 2016 Hello, and welcome to August 2016’s edition of The Book Bridge! We’re here to connect each other with the books that we were most excited about reading last month. I’m happy to welcome a few new contributors this month, and I’m very glad to see that some of the readers who joined us for our very first Book Bridge in July are back again! Here’s the main thing, though: I’m always […]

THOSE WHO LEAVE AND THOSE WHO STAY by Elena Ferrante [Audiobook Thoughts]

THOSE WHO LEAVE AND THOSE WHO STAY by Elena Ferrante [Audiobook Thoughts]

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay Written by Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein Audiobook read by Hillary Huber Published by Europa Editions on September 2nd 2014 ISBN: 9781609452230 Genres: Fiction, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 400 Source: public library via Overdrive The incredible story continues in book three of the critically acclaimed Neapolitan Novels! Since the publication of My Brilliant Friend, the first of the Neapolitan novels, Elena Ferrante’s fame as one of our most compelling, […]

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

Harmony Written by Carolyn Parkhurst Published by Penguin Random House on August 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9780399562600 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: hardcover Pages: 288 Source: publisher Gorgeously written and patently original. Jodi Picoult, “New York Times”bestselling author of”Leaving Time” In this gripping, timely novel, Carolyn Parkhurst follows the Hammond family as they give up everything. . . and ultimately reveals the healing power of love. Kim Edwards, the #1″New York Times”bestselling author of”The […]

BREAK IN CASE OF EMERGENCY by Jessica Winter [Book Thoughts]

BREAK IN CASE OF EMERGENCY by Jessica Winter [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Break in Case of Emergency: A novel Written by Jessica Winter Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group on July 12th 2016 ISBN: 9781101946138 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Urban, Satire Format: ARC Pages: 288 Source: via Shelf Awareness for Readers An irreverent and deeply moving comedy about friendship, fertility, and fighting for one’s sanity in a toxic workplace. Jen […]

The Book Bridge July 2016 Edition

The Book Bridge July 2016 Edition

This is The Book Bridge July 2016 edition—we’re connecting each other to great reads! I’m thrilled to bring this to you, and so excited that some of you were excited to share the books you were most excited about last month. This is our first time here, and I hope it won’t be the last! We have a mix of brand-new and backlist books, fiction and nonfiction, and a couple of audiobooks to talk about, so […]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Stranger, Father, Beloved Written by Taylor Larsen Published by Gallery Books on July 12th 2016 ISBN: 9781501124754 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Coming of Age, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 272 Source: publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers In the tradition of Tom Perrotta’s Little Children, a “mesmerizing, unsparing” (Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!) debut novel about a […]

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

Perfectly Broken Written by Robert Burke Warren Published by Story Plant on March 8th 2016 ISBN: 9781611882186 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 270 Source: publisher A galley copy of Perfectly Broken was provided by the publisher via TLC Book Tours to facilitate a review and participation in a promotional blog tour. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions are my own.   On first impression, Perfectly Broken reminded me of books like  Greg […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

All Involved Written by Ryan Gattis Audiobook read by Anthony Rey Perez, Marisol Ramirez, Jim Cooper, Adam Lazarre-White, James Chen Published by Harper Collins on April 7th 2015 ISBN: 9780062378811 Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive A propulsive and ambitious novel as electrifying as The Wire, from a writer hailed as the West Coast’s Richard Price—a mesmerizing epic of crime and opportunity, race, revenge, and loyalty, set in […]

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.The Ramblers Written by Aidan Donnelley Rowley Published by William Morrow on February 9th 2016 ISBN: 9780062413314 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 400 For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the […]

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.One More Day Written by Kelly Simmons Published by Sourcebooks on February 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9781492618645 Genres: Fiction, Suspense, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 320 A missing son returns, only to vanish again within 24 hours. Can a secret from his mother’s past unlock the mystery of his disappearance? When Carrie Morgan’s young son is snatched […]

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Like Family Written by Paolo Giordano Published by Pamela Dorman Books on December 1st 2015 ISBN: 0525428763 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 146 From the author of the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, an exquisite portrait of marriage, adulthood, and the meaning of family Paolo Giordano’s prizewinning debut novel, The Solitude […]

2015: The Year in Books (And a Few Numbers)

2015: The Year in Books (And a Few Numbers)

  2015 was not one of the more distinguished years of my reading life, so it seems rather fitting that it’s the year I stepped away from assigning ratings to the books I wrote about. Partly because of that, and partly because the books that stood out and stuck with me did so for random reasons, I’m taking a different approach to my year-end book roundup. And since I wasn’t entirely sure I would do […]