biden harris action figures

The Same, but Different…

Wednesday morning felt different after a restless, silent, very dark night.

We had lost power at 3 PM the day before as Southern California was slammed with extremely high winds, and we had no idea how long we’d be without it. It was obvious that I wouldn’t be working remotely that morning, though. As it happened, we were powerless for a total of roughly 21 hours. And we were without cable, internet, and WiFi for a couple of hours longer

You’d think we would be pretty accustomed to feeling isolated by now. California began its COVID lockdown ten months ago(!!). That said, the connections provided by technology have been taking the edge off that isolation. Being cut off from that takes it to a whole other miserable level.

But as winds of change blew on January 20th, I felt reconnected…and not so miserable.

While driving to the office that morning, I tuned into the Inauguration ceremonies broadcast on NPR. And as I listened, I felt moved, excited, and maybe even a bit hopeful. Flipping the calendar to a new year doesn’t change much all by itself. Flipping the balance of power actually might.

And here’s where to get your own set of Presidential Pair Action Figures.


And in other, less-newsworthy news…

I finished two books this week and continued my experiment with mini-reviews on Instagram. It’s been hard to shake the idea that I need to have 250-300 words to say about a book (Writing paid reviews for Shelf Awareness ingrained that.) Here’s the awful truth, though: sometimes I just don’t. And it’s kind of nice not to push for that when I’m not feeling it.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,315 other subscribers

Carrie Fisher: Wishful Drinking With the Shockaholic Princess Diarist

Carrie Fisher: Wishful Drinking With the Shockaholic Princess Diarist

The Princess Diarist Written by Carrie Fisher Audiobook read by carrie fisher, billie lourd Published by Blue Rider Press on October 18th 2016 ISBN: 0399173595 Genres: Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Popular Culture Format: audiobook Pages: 257 Source: purchased The Princess Diarist is Carrie Fisher’s intimate, hilarious and revealing recollection of what happened behind the scenes on one of the most famous film sets of all time, the first Star Wars movie. When Carrie Fisher recently discovered […]

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

Harmony Written by Carolyn Parkhurst Published by Penguin Random House on August 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9780399562600 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: hardcover Pages: 288 Source: publisher Gorgeously written and patently original. Jodi Picoult, “New York Times”bestselling author of”Leaving Time” In this gripping, timely novel, Carolyn Parkhurst follows the Hammond family as they give up everything. . . and ultimately reveals the healing power of love. Kim Edwards, the #1″New York Times”bestselling author of”The […]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

When Breath Becomes Air Written by Paul Kalanithi Audiobook read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 16th 2016 ISBN: 9780812988413 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

Ghettoside; A True Story of Murder in America Written by Jill Leovy Audiobook read by Rebecca Lowman Published by Random House Publishing Group on January 27th 2015 ISBN: 9780385530002 Genres: True Crime, Nonfiction, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, USA TODAY, AND CHICAGO TRIBUNE • A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, […]

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own. Like Family Written by Paolo Giordano Published by Pamela Dorman Books on December 1st 2015 ISBN: 0525428763 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 146 From the author of the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, an exquisite portrait of marriage, adulthood, and the meaning of family Paolo Giordano’s prizewinning debut novel, The […]

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink Written by Elvis Costello Audiobook read by Elvis Costello Published by Blue Rider Press on October 13th 2015 ISBN: 9780399167256 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs Format: audiobook Pages: 688 Source: purchased, public library via Overdrive Born Declan Patrick MacManus, Elvis Costello was raised in London and Liverpool, grandson of a trumpet player on the White Star Line and son of a jazz musician who […]

Audiobook Talk: MY LIFE ON THE ROAD, by Gloria Steinem

Audiobook Talk: MY LIFE ON THE ROAD, by Gloria Steinem

My Life on the Road Written by Gloria Steinem Audiobook read by Debra Winger, Gloria Steinem Published by Random House on October 27th 2015 ISBN: 0679456201 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Cultural Heritage, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 304 Source: public library via Overdrive Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and one of the most inspiring leaders in the world—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of how her early […]

Book Talk: LUKE SKYWALKER CAN’T READ, by Ryan Britt

Book Talk: LUKE SKYWALKER CAN’T READ, by Ryan Britt

Luke Skywalker Can’t Read: And Other Geeky Truths Ryan Britt Plume (November 2015), trade paper (ISBN 0147517575 / 9780147517579) Nonfiction: pop culture/essays, 224 pages Source: publisher This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.   Just in time for the release of the seventh Star Wars movie, The Force Awakens, Ryan Britt discusses this and other cornerstones of over fifty years of nerd culture in a collection of smart and occasionally snarky essays, Luke Skywalker Can’t […]

(Audio)Book Talk: THE REAL DOCTOR WILL SEE YOU SHORTLY by Matt McCarthy

(Audio)Book Talk: THE REAL DOCTOR WILL SEE YOU SHORTLY by Matt McCarthy

The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly: A Physician’s First Year Matt McCarthy (Twitter) Audiobook read by the author Crown (April 2015), hardcover (ISBN 9780804138659) Nonfiction: memoir, 336 pages Audiobook: Random House Audio (2015), ISBN 9781101889251 Source: Los Angeles Public Library, via Overdrive   This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.   I was never inclined to pursue a medical career, but I find hospitals fascinating places, and medical memoirs have become one of my […]

(Audio)Book Talk: IT’S WHAT I DO by Lynsey Addario, read by Tavia Gilbert

(Audio)Book Talk: IT’S WHAT I DO by Lynsey Addario, read by Tavia Gilbert

It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War Lynsey Addario (Twitter) (Facebook) Audiobook read by Tavia Gilbert Penguin Press (February 2015), hardcover (ISBN 159420537X / 9781594205378) Nonfiction: memoir/journalism, 368 pages Source: Purchased audiobook (Blackstone Audio, February 2015: ISBN 9781481505833, Audible ASIN B00SYNWZBC) This post contains affiliate links to IndieBound.   —————————————————————————————————————       Photojournalist Lynsey Addario has done much of her work in a post-9/11 world, in the part of the world […]