carrie fisher wishful drinking shockaholic princess diarist

Carrie Fisher: Wishful Drinking With the Shockaholic Princess Diarist

The Princess Diarist
Written by Carrie Fisher
Audiobook read by carrie fisher, billie lourd
Published by Blue Rider Press on October 18th 2016
ISBN: 0399173595
Genres: Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Popular Culture
Format: audiobook
Pages: 257
Source: purchased

The Princess Diarist is Carrie Fisher’s intimate, hilarious and revealing recollection of what happened behind the scenes on one of the most famous film sets of all time, the first Star Wars movie.
When Carrie Fisher recently discovered the journals she kept during the filming of the first Star Wars movie, she was astonished to see what they had preserved—plaintive love poems, unbridled musings with youthful naiveté, and a vulnerability that she barely recognized. Today, her fame as an author, actress, and pop-culture icon is indisputable, but in 1977, Carrie Fisher was just a (sort-of) regular teenager.
With these excerpts from her handwritten notebooks, The Princess Diarist is Fisher’s intimate and revealing recollection of what happened on one of the most famous film sets of all time—and what developed behind the scenes. And today, as she reprises her most iconic role for the latest Star Wars trilogy, Fisher also ponders the joys and insanity of celebrity, and the absurdity of a life spawned by Hollywood royalty, only to be surpassed by her own outer-space royalty. Laugh-out-loud hilarious and endlessly quotable, The Princess Diarist brims with the candor and introspection of a diary while offering shrewd insight into the type of stardom that few will ever experience.

Carrie Fisher was on tour promoting her last book, The Princess Diarist, when she suffered the cardiac episode that led to her death. This was her third memoir, built around the journal she kept while filming the original Star Wars. I started listening to the audiobook in early December. I set it aside when Bruce Springsteen’s memoir came along. At the time, I wasn’t sure I’d go back and finish it. Then Carrie Fisher died. I not only returned to finish The Princess Diarist, I bought her two earlier memoirs and read them too.

Tales from Carrie Fisher’s Hollywood

Fisher’s first memoir, Wishful Drinking, grew out of her one-woman show of the same name. It was Fisher’s first foray into nonfiction after nearly two decades as a novelist and screenwriter. After years of struggling with bipolar disorder and addiction, she started electroconvulsive therapy (shock treatment). ECT helped Fisher’s mental health but hurt her memory, inspiring her to start documenting. Perhaps because it began as a performance piece, Wishful Drinking is largely anecdotal and occasionally repetitive. It’s also a very funny, very specific account of growing up in Hollywood and unexpectedly becoming the face of one of the best-known characters in movie history.

Fisher’s second memoir, Shockaholic, covers some of the same ground as Wishful Drinking, but it goes deeper. It’s still funny, but it’s more revealing and feels emotionally braver. Reading all of these books in audio, I was struck by the literal difference in Fisher’s voice between recording Wishful Drinking and Shockaholic. This was probably another effect of ECT. On her first memoir, she still sounded like Princess Leia, just older. By the second, her voice had acquired the rasp and change in pitch familiar from her talk-show appearances during the last few years.

The Princess Diarist

carrie fisher princess leia resistance

Both of Fisher’s earlier memoirs gave space to Star Wars, of course, but it’s the focus of her last one. Fisher was just 19 when she was cast as Princess Leia and went to England to spend three months making the movie that would change pop culture forever. (It’s probably a good thing no one involved had any idea, going in, that this would happen.) She was already a journaler by then, so naturally, she kept a diary during the shoot. She found the long-forgotten notebook in a box a couple of years ago. It became the basis for The Princess Diarist, but it makes up a surprisingly small portion of the book.

And that may be just as well. The diary is a 19-year-old’s journal, complete with poetry. It’s short on behind-the-scenes details from the set. (If that’s your thing, look to another Cary and his Inconceivable Tales From the Making of “The Princess Bride”.) However, it’s rich in the emotional experiences and impressions of a young woman having an affair with her older married co-star. Fisher’s daughter Billie Lourd reads the diary on the audiobook; her younger voice is more appropriate to the material than Fisher’s own.

Fisher fleshes out the diary in the chapters leading up to it and follows it with reflections on how Star Wars changed her life. In some ways, The Princess Diarist is, in some ways, the story of Fisher’s relationship with Princess Leia. She will appear in that role for the final time in Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi (December 2017).

R.I.P., Princess

Carrie Fisher was an actor and a writer born and raised in Hollywood, She was a sharp observer and a fearless truth-teller, She died suddenly, and too soon, on December 27, 2016. For two-thirds of her life, she was a princess–and as a princess, she will live on as an icon.

I liked Carrie Fisher and I loved Princess Leia. I’ll miss them both. If you’d like to spend a little more time with them, all three of Fisher’s memoirs are quick reads, and you should let her read them all to you in audiobook.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,358 other subscribers

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

HARMONY by Carolyn Parkhurst [Book Thoughts]

Harmony Written by Carolyn Parkhurst Published by Penguin Random House on August 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9780399562600 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: hardcover Pages: 288 Source: publisher Gorgeously written and patently original. Jodi Picoult, “New York Times”bestselling author of”Leaving Time” In this gripping, timely novel, Carolyn Parkhurst follows the Hammond family as they give up everything. . . and ultimately reveals the healing power of love. Kim Edwards, the #1″New York Times”bestselling author of”The […]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

When Breath Becomes Air Written by Paul Kalanithi Audiobook read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 16th 2016 ISBN: 9780812988413 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

Ghettoside; A True Story of Murder in America Written by Jill Leovy Audiobook read by Rebecca Lowman Published by Random House Publishing Group on January 27th 2015 ISBN: 9780385530002 Genres: True Crime, Nonfiction, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, USA TODAY, AND CHICAGO TRIBUNE • A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, […]

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Like Family Written by Paolo Giordano Published by Pamela Dorman Books on December 1st 2015 ISBN: 0525428763 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 146 From the author of the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, an exquisite portrait of marriage, adulthood, and the meaning of family Paolo Giordano’s prizewinning debut novel, The Solitude […]

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink Written by Elvis Costello Audiobook read by Elvis Costello Published by Blue Rider Press on October 13th 2015 ISBN: 9780399167256 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs Format: audiobook Pages: 688 Source: purchased, public library via Overdrive Born Declan Patrick MacManus, Elvis Costello was raised in London and Liverpool, grandson of a trumpet player on the White Star Line and son of a jazz musician who […]

Audiobook Talk: MY LIFE ON THE ROAD, by Gloria Steinem

Audiobook Talk: MY LIFE ON THE ROAD, by Gloria Steinem

My Life on the Road Written by Gloria Steinem Audiobook read by Debra Winger, Gloria Steinem Published by Random House on October 27th 2015 ISBN: 0679456201 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Cultural Heritage, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 304 Source: public library via Overdrive Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and one of the most inspiring leaders in the world—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of how her early […]

Book Talk: LUKE SKYWALKER CAN’T READ, by Ryan Britt

Book Talk: LUKE SKYWALKER CAN’T READ, by Ryan Britt

Luke Skywalker Can’t Read: And Other Geeky Truths Ryan Britt Plume (November 2015), trade paper (ISBN 0147517575 / 9780147517579) Nonfiction: pop culture/essays, 224 pages Source: publisher This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.   Just in time for the release of the seventh Star Wars movie, The Force Awakens, Ryan Britt discusses this and other cornerstones of over fifty years of nerd culture in a collection of smart and occasionally snarky essays, Luke Skywalker Can’t […]

(Audio)Book Talk: THE REAL DOCTOR WILL SEE YOU SHORTLY by Matt McCarthy

(Audio)Book Talk: THE REAL DOCTOR WILL SEE YOU SHORTLY by Matt McCarthy

The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly: A Physician’s First Year Matt McCarthy (Twitter) Audiobook read by the author Crown (April 2015), hardcover (ISBN 9780804138659) Nonfiction: memoir, 336 pages Audiobook: Random House Audio (2015), ISBN 9781101889251 Source: Los Angeles Public Library, via Overdrive   This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.   I was never inclined to pursue a medical career, but I find hospitals fascinating places, and medical memoirs have become one of my […]

(Audio)Book Talk: IT’S WHAT I DO by Lynsey Addario, read by Tavia Gilbert

(Audio)Book Talk: IT’S WHAT I DO by Lynsey Addario, read by Tavia Gilbert

It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War Lynsey Addario (Twitter) (Facebook) Audiobook read by Tavia Gilbert Penguin Press (February 2015), hardcover (ISBN 159420537X / 9781594205378) Nonfiction: memoir/journalism, 368 pages Source: Purchased audiobook (Blackstone Audio, February 2015: ISBN 9781481505833, Audible ASIN B00SYNWZBC) This post contains affiliate links to IndieBound.   —————————————————————————————————————       Photojournalist Lynsey Addario has done much of her work in a post-9/11 world, in the part of the world […]