LAFAYETTE IN THE SOMEWHAT UNITED STATES by Sarah Vowell [Audiobook Thoughts]

LAFAYETTE IN THE SOMEWHAT UNITED STATES by Sarah Vowell [Audiobook Thoughts]

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States Written by Sarah Vowell Audiobook read by Sarah Vowell Published by Penguin on October 20th 2015 ISBN: 9781101624012 Genres: History, United States, Biography & Autobiography Format: audiobook Pages: 288 Source: public library via Overdrive From the bestselling author of Assassination Vacation and The Partly Cloudy Patriot, an insightful and unconventional account of George Washington’s trusted officer and friend, that swashbuckling teenage French aristocrat the Marquis de Lafayette.   Chronicling General […]

BREAK IN CASE OF EMERGENCY by Jessica Winter [Book Thoughts]

BREAK IN CASE OF EMERGENCY by Jessica Winter [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Break in Case of Emergency: A novel Written by Jessica Winter Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group on July 12th 2016 ISBN: 9781101946138 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Urban, Satire Format: ARC Pages: 288 Source: via Shelf Awareness for Readers An irreverent and deeply moving comedy about friendship, fertility, and fighting for one’s sanity in a toxic workplace. Jen […]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

STRANGER, FATHER, BELOVED by Taylor Larsen [Book Thoughts]

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Stranger, Father, Beloved Written by Taylor Larsen Published by Gallery Books on July 12th 2016 ISBN: 9781501124754 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Coming of Age, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 272 Source: publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers In the tradition of Tom Perrotta’s Little Children, a “mesmerizing, unsparing” (Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!) debut novel about a […]

Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan Novels, Books 1 and 2…Or, “My Brilliant Friend’s New Name” [A Reader’s Journal]

Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan Novels, Books 1 and 2…Or, “My Brilliant Friend’s New Name” [A Reader’s Journal]

My Brilliant Friend Series: The Neapolitan Novels #1 Written by Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein Audiobook read by Hillary Huber Published by Europa Editions on September 25th 2012 ISBN: 9781609458638 Genres: Fiction, General, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 336 Source: public library via Overdrive A modern masterpiece from one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante’s inimitable style lends itself perfectly to […]

DEAR MR. YOU by Mary-Louise Parker [Audiobook Thoughts]

DEAR MR. YOU by Mary-Louise Parker [Audiobook Thoughts]

Dear Mr. You Written by Mary-Louise Parker Audiobook read by Mary-Louise Parker Published by Scribner on November 10th 2015 ISBN: 9781501107832 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Personal Memoirs Format: audiobook Pages: 240 Source: purchased A wonderfully unconventional literary debut from the award-winning actress Mary-Louise Parker. An extraordinary literary work, Dear Mr. You renders the singular arc of a woman’s life through letters Mary-Louise Parker composes to the men, real and hypothetical, who […]

THE CAPED CRUSADE by Glen Weldon [Audiobook Thoughts]

THE CAPED CRUSADE by Glen Weldon [Audiobook Thoughts]

The Caped Crusade Written by Glen Weldon Audiobook read by Glen Weldon Published by Simon and Schuster on March 22nd 2016 ISBN: 9781476756691 Genres: Social Science, Popular Culture, Media Studies Format: audiobook Pages: 336 Source: purchased A witty, intelligent cultural history from NPR book critic Glen Weldon explains Batman’s rises and falls throughout the ages—and what his story tells us about ourselves. Since his creation, Batman has been many things: a two-fisted detective; a planet-hopping […]

YOU ARE ONE OF THEM by Elliott Holt [Book Thoughts]

YOU ARE ONE OF THEM by Elliott Holt [Book Thoughts]

You Are One of Them Written by Elliott Holt Published by Penguin on May 30th 2013 ISBN: 9781101617977 Genres: Fiction, Literary Format: ebook Pages: 304 Source: purchased “A hugely absorbing first novel from a writer with a fluid, vivid style and a rare knack for balancing the pleasure of entertainment with the deeper gratification of insight. More, please.”—Maggie Shipstead, The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice) “A story about Russia, the United States, friendship, identity, […]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR by Paul Kalanithi [(Audio)Book Thoughts]

When Breath Becomes Air Written by Paul Kalanithi Audiobook read by Sunil Malhotra, Cassandra Campbell Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 16th 2016 ISBN: 9780812988413 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Medical Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: NEGROLAND, A MEMOIR by Margo Jefferson

(Audio)Book Thoughts: NEGROLAND, A MEMOIR by Margo Jefferson

Negroland: A Memoir Written by Margo Jefferson Audiobook read by Robin Miles Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Pantheon on September 8th 2015 ISBN: 9781101870648 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Cultural Heritage, African American Studies Format: audiobook Pages: 256 Source: public library via Overdrive At once incendiary and icy, mischievous and provocative, celebratory and elegiac—here is a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of the author’s rarefied upbringing and education […]

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

PERFECTLY BROKEN by Robert Burke Warren–TLC Book Tour

Perfectly Broken Written by Robert Burke Warren Published by Story Plant on March 8th 2016 ISBN: 9781611882186 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 270 Source: publisher A galley copy of Perfectly Broken was provided by the publisher via TLC Book Tours to facilitate a review and participation in a promotional blog tour. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions are my own.   On first impression, Perfectly Broken reminded me of books like  Greg […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

(Audio)Book Thoughts: GHETTOSIDE by Jill Leovy

Ghettoside; A True Story of Murder in America Written by Jill Leovy Audiobook read by Rebecca Lowman Published by Random House Publishing Group on January 27th 2015 ISBN: 9780385530002 Genres: True Crime, Nonfiction, Social Science Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, USA TODAY, AND CHICAGO TRIBUNE • A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, […]

Book Thoughts: CITIZEN by Claudia Rankine

Book Thoughts: CITIZEN by Claudia Rankine

Citizen: An American Lyric Written by Claudia Rankine Published by Macmillan on October 7th 2014 ISBN: 9781555973483 Genres: Essays, Poetry, African American Format: ebook Pages: 160 Source: public library via Overdrive * Finalist for the National Book Award in Poetry ** Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry * Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism * Winner of the NAACP Image Award * Winner of the L.A. Times […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

(Audio)Book Thoughts: ALL INVOLVED by Ryan Gattis

All Involved Written by Ryan Gattis Audiobook read by Anthony Rey Perez, Marisol Ramirez, Jim Cooper, Adam Lazarre-White, James Chen Published by Harper Collins on April 7th 2015 ISBN: 9780062378811 Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Literary Format: audiobook Pages: 384 Source: public library via Overdrive A propulsive and ambitious novel as electrifying as The Wire, from a writer hailed as the West Coast’s Richard Price—a mesmerizing epic of crime and opportunity, race, revenge, and loyalty, set in […]

(Audio)Book Thoughts: BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME by Ta-Nehisi Coates, read by the author

(Audio)Book Thoughts: BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME by Ta-Nehisi Coates, read by the author

Between the World and Me Written by Ta-Nehisi Coates Audiobook read by Ta-Nehisi Coates Published by Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group on July 14th 2015 ISBN: 9780812993547 Genres: Nonfiction, Social Science, Essays Format: audiobook Pages: 176 Source: public library via Overdrive “This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.” In a profound work that pivots from the […]

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.The Ramblers Written by Aidan Donnelley Rowley Published by William Morrow on February 9th 2016 ISBN: 9780062413314 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Format: ARC Pages: 400 For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the […]