Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Book Talk: THE RAMBLERS by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.The Ramblers Written by Aidan Donnelley Rowley Published by William Morrow on February 9th 2016 ISBN: 9780062413314 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Family Life Pages: 400 Format: ARC This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.> For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way […]

Keep Reading

Audiobook Talk: BOYS IN THE TREES by Carly Simon

Audiobook Talk: BOYS IN THE TREES by Carly Simon

Boys in the Trees Written by Carly Simon Audiobook read by Carly Simon Published by Flatiron Books on November 24th 2015 ISBN: 9781250095909 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Music, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Personal Memoirs Pages: 304 Format: audiobook Source: public library via Overdrive This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.> Simon’s memoir reveals her remarkable life, beginning with her storied childhood as the third daughter of Richard L. Simon, the co-founder of publishing giant Simon & Schuster, her musical debut as half of […]

Keep Reading

[Show-and-Tell Sunday] When Randomness Rules

[Show-and-Tell Sunday] When Randomness Rules

My husband took this picture of his car thermometer when he arrived at work this past Tuesday. The effects of a chilly, rainy weekend were lingering here in Southern California. Yesterday morning I walked the dog in sunshine and warm breezes. The high temperature was forecast to top 70°, and today and tomorrow are supposed to be even warmer. If I could pack this up and send it off to share with those of you buried in snowdrifts, I’d be glad to do it! Weather that doesn’t know what to do with itself is a pretty good fit with where I am […]

Keep Reading

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

Book Talk: ONE MORE DAY by Kelly Simmons

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.One More Day Written by Kelly Simmons Published by Sourcebooks on February 2nd 2016 ISBN: 9781492618645 Genres: Fiction, Suspense, Family Life Pages: 320 Format: ARC This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.> A missing son returns, only to vanish again within 24 hours. Can a secret from his mother’s past unlock the mystery of his disappearance? When Carrie Morgan’s young son is snatched from […]

Keep Reading

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

Book Talk: LIKE FAMILY by Paolo Giordano

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher, via Shelf Awareness for Readers. All opinions are my own.Like Family Written by Paolo Giordano Published by Pamela Dorman Books on December 1st 2015 ISBN: 0525428763 Genres: Fiction, Literary, Psychological, Family Life Pages: 146 Format: ARC This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.> From the author of the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, an exquisite portrait of marriage, adulthood, and the meaning of family Paolo Giordano’s prizewinning debut novel, The Solitude of […]

Keep Reading

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

(Audio)Book Talk: UNFAITHFUL MUSIC AND DISAPPEARING INK by Elvis Costello

Unfaithful Music & Disappearing Ink Written by Elvis Costello Audiobook read by Elvis Costello Published by Blue Rider Press on October 13th 2015 ISBN: 9780399167256 Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Entertainment & Performing Arts, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs Pages: 688 Format: audiobook Source: purchased, public library via Overdrive This post contains affiliate links to Indiebound.org. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.> Born Declan Patrick MacManus, Elvis Costello was raised in London and Liverpool, grandson of a trumpet player on the White Star Line and son of a jazz musician who became […]

Keep Reading

From the Clipboard: A Link Roundup

From the Clipboard: A Link Roundup

I’m not getting as much blog-reading time as I’d like lately, but I do have a small accumulation of links I’ve been saving to share, and I’ve decided not to hold onto them any longer–time for a link roundup post! If you’d like to get them all in a handy list instead of bookmarking this blog post, here’s the OneTab where I collected them. But before we get to the reading links, I’d like to pass along a few referral links that I just never seem to get around to sharing. Tell ‘Em I Sent You: Referral Links I’m required to […]

Keep Reading

Damage Control; Or, 5 Things I Tried This Week

Damage Control; Or, 5 Things I Tried This Week

“I am this close to burnout,” I said to Paul as we were driving back home from his mother’s house last Monday. We were just 18 days into 2016–the mythical “Blue Monday”–but between parenting both our parents since Thanksgiving (one way or another) while observing the holidays with our kids and trying not to let our work go undone, I’ve been feeling a bit crisp around the edges. This week, I tried a few things that I hoped would slow the burn, and I think I managed some damage control. Slowing the Burn: 5 things I tried this week The biggest […]

Keep Reading

Show-and-Tell Sunday: Notes From Elsewhere

Show-and-Tell Sunday: Notes From Elsewhere

I’m showing and telling today from my mother-in-law’s home in Oceanside, California (north of San Diego), which we were able to return her to this weekend! We’re staying here till tomorrow to help her settle back in and make arrangements for her to have some assistance during the next few weeks as her broken ribs continue to heal. Minor accomplishments: 4 things I did this week Finished reading a book! Set up review draft templates for that book and three others Changed to a new blog template (it’s been nearly a month since I moved over to WordPress–it was time) Got […]

Keep Reading

Star Wars: The Fan Awakens

Star Wars: The Fan Awakens

“That’s what a Star Wars movie is supposed to be,” we said as the end credits rolled. We’ve seen it twice more since that opening weekend. I saw it twice within the first week it was in theaters. I haven’t seen a movie for the second time so soon after the first since…well, since Star Wars. That would be the very first Star Wars film–the one that caused a bit of confusion when it was first released by being subtitled “Episode IV: A New Hope.” Episode IV? Had there been three of these movies already, and I’d never heard anything about them? I […]

Keep Reading